Thursday’s Children: 02.21.2013

thursdayschildren-badge

 

Music! Music inspires me!

I have a “soundtrack” to SHADOW that narrates the entire novel from beginning to end. I’m also putting one together (slowly, as the songs come to me) for the sequel, BLEED, and my other project, SOME KIND OF QUEER. 😀 There are very specific lines in each song that apply to different scenes and conversations and usually each song “belongs” to a character.

It’s fun. I like to listen to the soundtracks while I drive or exercise or something. It’s like going on the story’s journey from beginning to end again. I’ll have to post the soundtracks on here at some point.

Aside from those, there are songs that don’t make the list (because the don’t suit a character or the story) but still inspire me deeply. These are the songs that I listen to overandoverandoverandoverandoverandoverandover on repeat for DAYS while I write. I can’t say exactly what defines these songs—they don’t have much in common. There’s been screamo, dance, rock, 90s pop, hip-hop, etc, etc. There was even a Taylor Swift song once. I don’t want to talk about it.

So, here’s the song of the moment. It’s called Two Men in Love and it’s by The Irrepressibles. It’s six and a half minutes of WONDERFUL. Listen to the end if you have time. It’s the most beautiful song I’ve ever heard and it gets really intense. The Irrepressibles are a 10 piece orchestral group and the singer’s voice is like heaven. Also, the lyrics of this song are poetry.

So many feels.

Does music inspire your writing? If so, how?

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 comments

  1. That is a beautiful song. I definitely become obsessed with songs that tie into my books too. If you don’t believe me, just ask my hubs…and even he has NO idea how often I listen to certain ones. As for TSwift, yeah, let’s not talk about that, lol.

  2. “There was even a Taylor Swift song once. I don’t want to talk about it.” LOL!!!

    This song is fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing!

  3. Great post! Everyone in Thursday’s Children is due for a music post at some point, lol.

    I think it’s awesome that you build soundtracks for your work, I do too. I’m wondering if you build your soundtracks after writing scenes, or if the soundtrack inspires you when you write the scene it’s meant for?

    Personally, I prefer listening to instrumentals when writing and building my own soundtracks. All my stuff is sci-fi/fantasy, so it’s the big orchestral stuff that gets me in the mood. Check out my own TC post on music:

    http://www.johnkrissilas.com/2012/11/thursdays-children-how-music-fuels-my.html

    Thanks for sharing!

  4. Lovely song. It’s funny. I can’t listen to music while I write, but have recently begun creating playlists for my manuscripts, and honestly, I love it. I have a song now I’m listening to that is setting the mood for the new shiny idea. It’s a while before I’ll start drafting it, but I know the tone, from the music.

    Nice to meet you!

  5. Beautiful song Jessie! I usually listen to music at the start of a writing session, and then once I’m in the mood, I let the music stop but keep the headphones on to cut out external noise and distractions.

    Recently, this song has been my favorite “starter.” It’s from Godspell (which is weird because I am an atheist), but I love the message of hope and the amazing vocal performance from Hunter Parrish (he was in Weeds on Showtime before he went to Godspell on Broadway). Hope you like it.

Leave a Reply

