Thursday’s Children: 02.28.2013

thursdayschildren-badge

Nighttime inspires me.

You’re probably not surprised to discover I’m one of those nocturnal people. If I could, I’d sleep until 4PM and be awake (and writing) all night. But, I have a day job and a social life (sorta haha) so this isn’t possible.

Nighttime in Stevensville, Montana isn’t like nighttime in the city. There’s almost zero light pollution and I’m not exaggerating when I say the sky looks like this:

????????????

It’s times like these in which I feel blessed to live where I do. (Other times, not so much . . .)

But nighttime, nighttime. There are so many things . . . Night has a distinct smell. It’s fresh, it’s a little wild, and it’s a little cold. And I love the dark. I produce my best writing when it’s dark out. I can focus with intense clarity I don’t have during the day.

I often go outside and think at night. Yes, even in February. The world is quiet, and there is this permeating energy in the very essence of matter that brings me into some sort of brilliant awareness. It’s as if there’s a secret there, somewhere, and if you could just . . . breathe it in . . .

Anyway.

I solve most of my problems this way—writing related and otherwise. Just sitting there, thinking, merging with the darkness and the cool, night air.

How about you? How do you feel about nighttime?

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 comments

  1. This. This right here —> “But nighttime, nighttime. There are so many things . . . Night has a distinct smell. It’s fresh, it’s a little wild, and it’s a little cold. And I love the dark. I produce my best writing when it’s dark out. I can focus with intense clarity I don’t have during the day.

    I often go outside and think at night. Yes, even in February. The world is quiet, and there is this permeating energy in the very essence of matter that brings me into some sort of brilliant awareness. It’s as if there’s a secret there, somewhere, and if you could just . . . breathe it in . . .”

    makes my heart happy. 🙂

    I love the night and I love the night sky. I loathe where we live and a large part of that is due to where we live and not being able to see the stars.

  2. I love it — for many of the same reasons you do. There’s something about the night that brings an intense clarity and awareness. It’s like all of the clutter of the day melts away, and it’s just you, the moon, and the stars.

    What a view!

  3. Gorgeous picture. I used to live in the country with night skies like that. Now more light pollution means it’s not so spectacular – but I love sitting out on a still night watching the sky. It’s a great way to quiet that internal chatter and put things in perspective!

  4. I totally get this! I used to spend my childhood summers at my grandparents’ house in Helena, and even though my regular home was on a ranch in Oregon, Montana just seemed so much more…WILD.

    In fact, a commonly heard phrase was “don’t wander out too far or you’ll get eaten by a [insert wild animal here].”

    So, all I’m saying, when you go on these late night walks of yours? Watch out for bears/mountain lions/chupacabra and the like. Inspiration can sometimes be dangerous.

  5. I used to do a lot of thinking at night back when I was in Nigeria but these days, reading and writing takes up most of my nights though I still go for evening walks. I guess I’m not yet connected to the sky here the way I was with the moon and stars in Nigeria. The night sky there gave me a certain kind of peace.

Leave a Reply

